John Deere L110 riding lawn mower

by Marsha
(Moore)

My husband and I purchased our John Deer from Home Depot in July of 2004.


We have had this riding mower ever since, with minimal repairs needed. Mainly just the normal wear and tear type things: blade replacement, oil changes, belt replacement.

My husband did have to replace the spindles on the mowing deck that hold the blades on this year and weld a weak spot by the discharge chute on the mowing deck, but after 4 years of continuous use that's not to bad.

On the whole this has been a durable riding lawn mower. We have over 1 acre of land which is grassed and the John Deere does a great job.
The John Deere is also used to haul a utility wagon for yard work: cut limbs, leaves, grass cuttings, and misc., so it gets quite a work out.
We have had other riders in the past (Craftsman, Murray, Sears).

The John Deere we have now has lasted the longest of all the riding lawn mowers. Price wise it is more expensive than the other brands we've owned, but has lasted longer, so I guess it has evened itself out on the original cost.

When we purchase another rider lawn mower we will definitely buy another John Deere.

Comments for John Deere L110 riding lawn mower

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 12, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
PARTS FOR YOUR RIDING MOWER????
by: Anonymous

Hello and greetings to you ALL.

I see someone is desiring replacement parts for their RIDING MOWER. I have a few locations where the prices are very good and reasonable.

1. For all brands and models you can visit.
http://www.jackssmallengines.com/

2. For CRAFTMANS Riding mower you can visit.
https://www.discountonlineparts.com/

3. This is the one I used. They have great PRICES
http://www.smallenginecity.net/

I hope this information has been helpfull

Country Boy is cutting grass. SMILE !!! LOL

Apr 05, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
stopping after a few minutes
by: Kathy

My John Deer L110 was stopping in the middle of mowing all the time. Turned out it was an easy fix. Apparently it was A clogged gas cap. So every now and then blow out the dirt in your gas cap to avoid this problem.

Apr 05, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
stopping after a few minutes
by: Kathy

My John Deer L110 was stopping in the middle of mowing all the time. Turned out it was an easy fix. Apparently it was A clogged gas cap. So every now and then blow out the dirt in your gas cap to avoid this problem.

Aug 28, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L110
by: Rob

L110 , Kohler is a very good engine, no issues, the mower deck does suffer from vibration issues which destroy the welds, the original spindles had no grease nipples and they fail.
Bearings in idler pulleys fail if water washing is not dried off
Very poor preparation of the steel on the floor pan deck where the powder coating comes off in sheets.
Vibration causes the bonnet plastic mounting to break away at the front
Seat material will fail(keep covered)

May 28, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstar
Bagging blades; starting
by: John (not Deere)

On my D100 42", bought at Lowe's in 2011 with free delivery; bought rear bagger kit. Always dispersed some grass and leaves from right front of deck. Original blades are 3-N-1 kit #GY20850. Yes, grass not too high, wet, or tall, and no higher mowing speed.

Found John Deere "high-lift" bagger blades #AM141034, $5X.XX @ dealer. Problem solved. Did send Deere a comment recommending suggesting these blades in manual for bagger unit.

Also, something screwy with starting. No "clicking" from anything when switch to "crank." Not seat or brake safety switches. Not 20A fuse. With switch on, using heavy copper wire to jump positive battery to side of solenoid that goes to starter. Solved.

May 26, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
for: country boy
by: missy elizabeth

hi, I read in a comment of yours that you've found best price for jd parts at a company in WI. could you pls share their name? thx, me

Jul 07, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Deck rot???
by: Anonymous

I have John Deere that I bought a a dealer with a black deck 15 years ago. Cleaned the deck about three time and no rot. HD must be a cheaper steel.
I always wondered why they ask me "black or yellow deck" when I go to the Deere store?

May 27, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
good and bad
by: CARL

I OWN A JOHN DEER L 110 ITS A JOKE .I HAVE OWNED 18 JOHN DEERS AND REPAIRED MOST BUT NEVER HAVE HAD SO MANY THINGS HAPPENED PAINT PEALED OF COMPLEATE FLOOR PAN DECK ACCESSORY WHEEL WELD COMING LOOSE ON LEFT AND DECK PAN FELL APART CRACKED,AND YES MY ST 38 DECK WAS HORRIBLE LIKEWISE,AND YES I PREFER A KOHLER ENGINE WITH A FUEL PUMP,A 60 YRS MECHANIC,YES I HAVE HAD COME BACKS.NOTHING IS PERFECT.IF MAN MADE,!

May 26, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Mr. 8 Yr Old L-110 W/540 Hrs.
by: Country Boy

Hello Mr. 8 Yr old L-110.

I must agree with you. You are absolutely correct. A lot of problems i see posted are the results of lacking care and maintenance. My L-110 has over 600 hours on it and it cut great even through 2 foot high grass. Yes, After each use, the Deck need to be cleaned off and be free of all grass cuttings. Reason being, the green grass contains moisture and that moisture can affect the condition of the deck.

Aso, whith a build up of OLD GRASS on the deck during cutting causes extra load on the pulleys during the cutting operation.

On both the L-110 and the L130, I have replaced all the Spindles and pulleys. The Spindles i did acquire do have grease fittings on it so i can keep the spindle filled with grease which eliminate any moisture build up between the bearings.

Well Mr. 8 Yr. Old L-110, I take my hat off to you for having a well deserved comment on the L-110. I hope others reading your note learn something from it.

NOTE: A machine does not speak and can not do for it's self. So all OWNERS and OPERATORS need to be more diligent in paying more attention to your machine.

PS: Folks who have an OLDER Machine, 4 or more years. The ETHANOL Fuel is VERY BAD for your engine. At most SuNocC Fuel Station, they now have NON-ETHANOL Fuel for your lawn machine. Check your local area for gas without ETHANOL fuel. Yes the fuel may cost $5.00 per gallon but is worth it compare to the repairs of your Engine.

There is a viable substitute if you are not able to get NON-ETHANOL Fuel. I will share it with you in my next post. SMILE !!!!!!

Country Boy.

May 25, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Take care of your stuff!
by: Anonymous

I have an 8 year old L110 with 540 hours on it,and I am just now doing my first meaningful repair. New deck spindles. Some of you say to go to the dealer instead of Lowes,or Home Depot. In my area the local dealer preps all the machines for the store,they even have the dealer sticker on them. The parts availability is unmatched,even for my older machine. I think people expect these units to be as good as a $ 5000.00 Deere,and they dont properly maintain them. The deck design has been improved,and the prices have barely changed since I got mine.

Apr 20, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deer L-110
by: Country Boy

Hello Folks whom are having problems with your L-110,
i would like to add, I was given anL-110. the original owners put 410 hours on the mower which they bought new and never changed the oil. They were throwing it out and I asked if I could have it.

So i too my neighbor's junk and it is now my treasure.

First I tried starting it, it would start but the timing was off for the exhaust was glowing red hot. (Unburned Fuel in Exhaust). I eventually took the head off the engine and found the lifters were scored due to lubrication. i polished the lifter tubes and made some other adjustments. Now the engine is running great. i use 100% synthetic oil in my engine.

Regarding the DECK, yes the pulleys were frozen and which was the culprit of stressing the engine. I replaced both Spindle, All the pulleys, Deck Belt, and new blades.

For the L-110 with grass cutting problem, you need to make sure your blade is very sharp with a 45 degree cutting face. a dull blade will leave grass uncut.

I also have a L-130 mower too. That one i bought for $100.00. I totally restored it and reworked the deck, pulleys, spindles, blades and belts.. It too is now cutting great.

Yes, i have 2 acres of lawn to maintain. Believe it or not, i used only 2 gallons of fuel to cut the 2 acres. Smile Folks.

Country Boy

Apr 18, 2013
Rating
star
L110 deffects
by: Martin

For you people having problems with your L110 mowers here is a couple of things that might help. For starters it will eat the belts up if any of the pullies are not level, all of them are suppose to be but there is one that was a manufacture defect and put on crooked. Second of all the deck mounts to the mower bottom will break off, they were poorly built. If it is quiting on you then change your battery. Takes a good battery to make them run right. Hope this helped some of you out. Me personally will never own any John Deere products cause I have seen my mother have enough problems with hers.

Apr 17, 2013
Rating
star
Nothing Runs BAD like a John Deere L110
by: Anonymous

I bought this mower new from Home Depot, hoping that spending more money I would get a better mower. Boy, that was a mistake. The most problem I have had with this mower has been with the deck.
From day one the deck never cut the grass evenly. Always scalping the grass on one side. We adjusted and tried but never would cut right. This mower would eat a least a mew belt every season. The it started with the deck cracking where it mounts to the mower. Took the deck off and welded it back together, but it still never cut right, scalping on one side. You moght as well buy the cheapest one you can find, because whether itss a MTD, john deere, murray, they will fall apart within 2 years needing deck work

Huscvarna has a 48 in deck and 24hp mower with a 10 year warrant on the deck and a great twin cylinder Kohler engine. This is the mower I will try next as I have tried all the other Junk, espescially JUNK DEERE

Nov 19, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Trucker L110
by: Country Boy

Hello Trucker,
Sorry to hear about your issues with your mower. I would like to add, I myself have 2 John Deers. A L110 and L130.

Yes, what you mentioned about he parts, the factory spindles has no grease fittings.

I came into my L110, when a neighbor who bought it new and had 410 hours and did not change the oil once. Second, the Factory spindles were partially frozen. Eventually the Mower stop running.

The neighbor was getting rid of the mower, so I offered to unload it of their hands. Since I like to tinker with machinery, I took it.

Attempts to get it running failed. It was backfiring through the card. I took the engine apart and found scored parts due to the lack of lubricant. Hydraulic lifters stuck. Then i put it back together. I still had running problems, so I took it to a shop who got it to run. They said the timing was off.

I then rebuild the deck with new blades, spindles, pulleys, inline gas filter.

It is now working wonderful. To be honest with you, it really depends on what engine you have on your mower. I have a Kholer 18HP single cylinder engine. It works much better in tall grass when compared to my L130. The L130 is a 22HP two cylinder engine. with a deck of 3 blades.

I found a place in Wisconsin who have the lowest prices on JD Parts.

I know that John Deer has been putting Brigs and Straton engine in their newest mowers. In fact, those mowers are made in CHINA. Not the USA

Nov 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstar
my 2001 johndeer L110
by: trucker

I bought because my dads 1998 unit is great. Well john deer dropped the ball on quaility.spindals replaced no grease fittings!new ones have them john deer said they would maybe cover half at dealers. that half is the same as me buying and doing. no thanks.leaf attachment craking, mower deck breaking, welded completed.deck wheel bracket broke off,paint chiping, runs slow. 400 hrs now runs only on choke. buissness worked on it three times different repair each time.JUNK ,worst investment.My dads unit to this date only has had a tune up. OLD is better.When, (I hope soon )John Deer goes bust I'll dance a gig.Looking for a unit 20 yrs plus to buy.1/2 acre is mowed.I'll be painting my unit primer gray.Those that dont have trouble on 2000 and up units hang on its coming.sell while its got vaule.

Sep 03, 2012
Rating
star
YA GRONKS
by: Anonymous

You say that you willgive me an operators manual. Then you just throw it in my face and expect me to buy it?? Well guess what you is wrong!! I AM AN INDEPENDENT BLACK WOMAN WHO DONT NEED NO TRACTOR..

Sep 03, 2012
Rating
star
Yee yeee
by: bjohnski

THIS DID NOT HELP ME AT ALL!!! NEH YOUS ARE THAT CHEEKY

Aug 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L110 Gas Tank Replacement
by: CountryBoy

Hello Jim,
I must say, I have never changed a Gas Tank before. I recommend you visiting a Lawn Mower Parts Supplier and view their Chassis Parts Illustration. This will show you how the mower is put together with an exploded view.

So try that and hope you get the info you need.


Aug 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L110 Eating up Deck Belts
by: Country Boy

Hello Polo219,
Sorry to hear about you eating up your deck belt.

Here are some things for you to check.

1. Check the Brake system on the LEFT PULLEY. Make sure the Brake shoe did not flip to the rear of the Pulley. If this happens, you will be putting unnecessary load on the Belt.

2. Check the tension on the belt when the BELT LEVER is engaged. At the back of the deck where the belt runs from the left pulley to the Right Pulley, make sure you have the right tension.

Also in this area, make sure the belt is located within the KEEPER (A Wire Bracket). This Keeper prevent the belt from coming in contact with the Deck Hangers.

3. Check the leveling of the deck. The TOE BAR in front of the deck, is used for two things.

First the Tow Bar is what is used to pull the deck along the grass as it cuts.

Second, The Tow Bar also is used to maintain a level profile between the leading and trailing edge of the Deck.

If the front of the deck is lower than the rear, this also changes the running angles between the engine pulley and the Deck Pulleys.

If the Front of the Deck is lower than the Rear, you can correct that by tightening the nut on the TOW BAR.

So Mr. Polo219,
Let me know if any of these issues are found on your Mower.

Aug 13, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
42 in mower deck belts
by: polo219

I have a JD L110 w/42 in mower deck....great mower have almost rebuilt it from deck up...have changed spindles on deck as well as pulleys...now for some reason I can do anything but destroy all belts....put new one on sat am cut grass on monday and belt was all tore up.....any suggestions.....I am at a loss.....?

Aug 11, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Gas Tank Replacement on JD L110
by: Anonymous

Have to replace the gas tank on my John Deere L110. Unsure on how to remove the steering shaft and pedestal. Anyone have any instructions on this procedure?

Aug 08, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replacing Gas Tank On John Deere L110 Automatic
by: Jim

Any information on how to replace the gas tank on my L110? The bracket has worn a small hole in the side of the tank. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!!

Jul 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
MOWER SHUTS OFF AFTER 15 MINUTERS
by: Country Boy

Hello and good day to you,
Sorry to hear about your mower cutting off after 15 minutes of running. I have a few questions.

1. When the mower cut off after 15 minutes, was the deck DISENGAGED OR NOT in cutting mode?

A. If the mower deck was not engaged and in cutting mode, you can start by checking under the hood. At the battry, you will see a small red wire connected to the POSITIVE Terminal of the battry. This red wire runs through the ign\ition switch and then goes to the SOLENOID on the carbourator bowl. This solenoid is the FEUL SHUT OFF SOLENOID. When power is removed, the solenoid shuts off fuel to the carb.

So Check connection plug at abttery and connecton on IGNITION SWITCH.

2. When the mower cut off after 15 minutes, was the deck ENGAGED OR in cutting mode?

A. THe above answer applies with an additional switch under the seat.

To check the seat switch, you can unplug the seat switch, installed an insulated jumper accross the Harness pins then run the mower to see if it still cuts off. If it does, then it is the set switch. If it does not, the more likely culprit will be the carb.

PS: Have ou checked the OIL LEVEL In your mower and when was the last time you changed your OIL???? These are factors whin can result in a shut down.

Let me know what you have discovered.



Jul 12, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
MOWER CUTTING LOW ON LEFT SIDE
by: Country Boy

Hello John Deer D-100,
Sorry to hear about your mower cutting low on the left side. I have a L110 and a L-130 Mower.

If yor mower is cutting lower on the left side, I would recommend your checking your AIR PRESSURE (20 LBS) per REAR TIRE.

That is the only recommended solution to start you off with. For your deck is a suspension deck.

THere are no adjustments on the deck, except the TOE LINK at the front of the deck. The TOE LINK is used to adjust the CUTTING HEIGHT of the deck.

As you can see, on your height adjustment lever show yo how many inches your cut should be. If the cut is lower than the selected height number, then you adjust the TOE LINK to increase the cutting height.

So start with your tire pressure first and let me know how it is cutting.


Jun 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Engine simply stops sometimes when cutting
by: Anonymous

My 06 L110 just stops after 15 minutes of cutting on my half acre, pretty level. Ironically both times after looking under the seat and hood it started again and ran. Anyone have any ideas. I am gong back out (100 today again) and check for lose wires. I may have a fuel problem. I use non alcohol fuel, and mower has not been used comercially at all.
Mike in Baton Rouge

Jun 07, 2012
Rating
star
John Deere D100
by: Anonymous

I just bought a john Deere D100, 17.5 hp and 42 inch cut, not happy with it. when I make a right turn the left side cuts much lower than the right side,and when I get on the least little slope it does the same thing , the rep.at john Deere dealer ship on hwy. 31 in athens told me it was just a cheap lawnmower, they dont make them like they use to,

Jun 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
They are the best
by: Denny

Its just a wonderful machine.

I enjoy nothing more than juicing up my L110, donning my John Deere cap and showing the lawn whose boss. Its green, its yellow, and its got 42 inches. I chucked a doughie in it the other day in the rain, it did it with all the style and grace you come to expect from a John Deere and then some.

Apr 29, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Home Depot
by: Willie

I have been reading these comments and notice many people buying their John Deere Mowers at Home Depot or Lowes. I strongly recommend buying your mower at a John Deere Dealership if one is available in your area. You will pay the same price and they will probably deliver it for you at no cost, at least they did for me. And if you have a problem your going to get better service from a Dealer. (who are you going to see at Home Depot)?

Apr 10, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Hot to adjust the deck height
by: Country Boy

Hello Fraze,
yes you can adjust your john deer dexk heoght. The firest thing you need to do is to share with me is, what model unot you have?.

If you have a L-110 or an L-130 machine or something simular, the adjustmnt is quite simple.

At the top and to the rear of the dexk, you will see a braxket which attaches to the exk and then attaches to the hanging linkages. There is a braxket on both sides.

There is also another adjustment at the front of the deck too.

1. You first need to park the mower on a level comcrete area.
2. You need to locate the locking bolt on the top rear brackets.
3. You need to set your mower height selector to the lowest setting.
Note: If the lever does not go to the lower setting, not to worry.

4. Loosen both bolts on the top rear beackets and slide the top part down unto the lower part of the deck brackets.
Note: withe the brackets locking bolts loose, try moving the height lever to the lowest setting.
5. Make aure both brackets are even, then you may now tighten both bolts.
6. Raise the heigjt selector to the heighest settings. The measure ground clearance at each rear corner of the deck on both sides.
Note: If the height in the front is lower than the rear, tje frot djustment need to ne done too.
7. Tigjten the nut on the drag shaft which connects between the mower frame and the front of the deck, until you have reached an even height between the front and rear of the deck.

That is all for now.
Country Boy is out.

Apr 09, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
how to raise belt
by: fraze

heya mate ive been given a john deere ride on and it looks like someone fat stood on the blade to step up onto the mower, is there a way i can raise the level of the blades??? cos the lever is on its highest setting yet the blades dragging on the ground , i would like to know if this can be fixed at home or do i need to take into a shop to get done????

Apr 02, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Country Boy
by: Anonymous

Hello Mr. Peterson,
regarding your mower not picking up grass or leaves, can you be a bit more specific?

Questions ! ! !

1. Are you using your mower to vacuum your lawn after cutting ?
2. Are you using your mower to vacuum leaves from your lawn?
3. What type of attachment or bagging fixture are you using?

That is all for now

Yours Truly Country Boy

Mar 22, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
mowing blades
by: malone peterson

I bought john deere L 110 two months ago from Lowes I love it, need to know if anyone having any problem not picking up grass and leaves mostly leaves are there any thing to do to the blades or do they have special blades with wings on them. I had a snapper and they put wings on the blades. appreciate someone giving me some advise. steamengine31@aol.com

Mar 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Engine Failure
by: CountryBoy

Hello Mr. Poorthing,
My frist question to you is, what type of engine and what size?

John Deer uses either Kholer or Briggs and Straton engines. Which engine do you have.?

I have one craftsman 15HP and two John Deer Lawn Tractors, a L-110 with a 18HP over head valves single cylinder and a L-130 22HP engine with two cylinders and overhead valves. Bkth engines are Kholer engines.

If you can share with me your make engine, number of cylinders, and horse power, along with the type of failure you are experiencing, i might be able to shed some light on ur issue.

CountryBoy

Mar 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Engine failures?
by: Poorthing

I am 71yrs old and have owned every thing from a Murry to a Torro and consider at this price point my D130 John Deere to be the best of the bunch. What I find must puzzling are the engine failures. Even though I have had many a cheap engines in the bottom end mowers I have owned I have NEVER had a failure. I do believe in regular oil changes and using mostly synthetic oils. Had my share of Briggs with no oil filters or oil pumps and still no problems. The Deere's use Intec's with up grade G4 crankshafts from the Pro series engines. I would love to know what really caused these failures A few failures are going to happen with all engines , however JD seems to be blamed for more than I would expect based on my personal experience. if I had to guess I would bet most of these failures where from running low on oil and or neglect. Just one mans opinion. Personaly I think my Deere is the best mower in this price range I have ever owned.

Mar 01, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
High Throtle
by: AnonymousCountry Boy

Ok, you L0 runs wide open or hogh idle.
For this to occurr it means the engine is getting a source of air which is bypassing the front of the carbourator. Check the carbourator mounting nolts o make sure they are tight and the carbourator is not loose. If that checks out ok and still jave high idle, this other component will ne the culprit.

On the left side of the engine, there is the governer lever. There is a rod tjat attaches to the carbourator and to the govener lever or arm. The governer arm works off engine pressure. When the arm moves, it afects the rpm of the engine.

Whenn cutting and you hit an area of thick grass, the enging slows. The governer detects the drop in RPM and the rpm is automatically increased.

Those are the only two things which will cause high rpm. Unless you are using Moonshine for fuel. SMILE ! ! !

COUNTRY BOY.

Feb 28, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Throttle stuck in high
by: 8+year owner

Hi,

I'm hoping someone can shed some light on my problem. I bought the JD L110 in 2004 and this is the 1st time I've had a problem I can't seem to figure out. I can start my JD but no matter what position the choke/throttle is in it runs high. Of course, while trying to figure it out the mower has blown a fuse. I would like to fix it before adding another fuse. Any suggestions?

Help is greatly appreciated.


Feb 20, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
UNEVEN DECK CUTTING
by: Country Boy

Hello and good day to you,
Sorry to hear about your uneven deck cutting.

Question ? ? ?
Which side of your DECK is cutting uneven
(Left or Right side)

Here a few simple things to check first.

1. Place your mower on a level pavement.

2. Check to ensure all tires have proper air pressure.

3. Select a mid range Deck cutting height

4. Take a measurement from lip of the deck to pavement on both sides and at the front of the deck.

NOTE: ALL THREE LOCATIONS SHOULD MEASURE THE SAME HEIGHT. If any of the height are lower, it can be adjusted.

Adjustment for the front is the TOE BAR. This should be your first adjustment and then remeasure once again.

If the sides are out of adjustment, there are adjustments on either side of the deck top side.

Try the above for now and see how it works for you

Country Boy

Feb 18, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Balancing blades?
by: Sunflower

My L-110 cuts uneven. I had the blades sharpened but it still cuts uneven. Is there some way to balance the blades on the deck? I can't take the entire mower into shop for repairs. Can the mower be checked with out being attached to the mower body?
Thanks for any information you can provide.

Oct 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
John Deere all the way
by: Brian

Bought my John Deere 2004, great service with it,change oil every spring before useing.I run a 15 year old John Deere deisel for a friend and she works like a charm.I maintain it to. Would buy another JD in a heartbeat.

Aug 13, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L110 running problem - Smoking
by: Country Boy

Hello Anton.
Can you be a bit more clear on you communication. You mention clutch, mower running, smoking, burning smell.

Are you speaking about the deck/Blades engaging system?

Or

Are you talking about the drive system?

If you are refering to the DRIVE system, there is a tensioner pully which is engaged when the left foot pedal is released and disengaged when the Left pedal is pressed.

If you are experiencing problems when the tensioner is disengaged by pressing the left pedal, you might have a broken spring or a sticking tensionner pully pivoting assembly.


To access the pully assembly, you will have to remove the deck.

Any questions, write back.

Country Boy.

Aug 07, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L110 runs, but smokes when clutch is disengaged
by: Anton

Hello. When my L110 is running, as long as the clutch is engaged everything seems fine. When the clutch is disengaged, the tractor will not move forward when the forward pedal is depressed, and after about a minute there's a scraping sound followed by a burning smell. Any idea what's going on?

Aug 06, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Uncut Grass Left Behind?
by: Country Boy

Hello Mark. I see you are having a problem with uncut grass. The reason is, your blades are not turning at the correct speed. Two things would cause this problem and they are;
1. Check the Pulley Brake System. The Blade Pulleys are connected to the Blade Tensioner Assembly. When the blade PTO lever is engaged, the Brake assembly should engaged. If the brake assembly is hanging up, this prevent the DECK BELT TRNSIONER from traveling to full travel for maximum tension. So check the brake assembly. Also when the pads are worn and you disengage the the PTO lever, the brake can rotate past their normal position. The common cu,lprit will be the brake on the left pully.check to make sure the brake assembly on the LEFT Pulley is position towards the front side of the Pulley and not to the rear.

W. Check your spindles to make sure they. Are moving freely and are not binding or frozen up.

I have been having problems eith my L-110 doing the same thing. My left pulley brake shoe kept rotatong past its normal resting position each time I disengage the Blade PTO. So I finally disconnect the rod and remove the brake assembly from the Left Pulley.

Country Boy Out

Aug 05, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Bad Cutting Problems with JD L110
by: mark

I have a JD L110 with 75 hours (7 years old) and have started having very bad cutting results. I replaced the blades and still no improvement. I have to go super slow and still get a very bad and uneven cut. Lot of grass blades uncut. Even mowing at a snails pace, still have to make two passes for a clean cut. I have st augustine grass and cut it every week. Suggestions welcome on how to fix the problem.

Jul 25, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L-110 Blade Engagement Problem
by: Country Boy

Hello folks, It is Country Boy once again. Yes I got my 9 Hour rest after yesterday workout.

Anyway, I would like to share with you, While I was cutting the 10 acres I experience a problem when I try to engage the deck belts.

After engaging the blade lever, the blades were not turning. This was a result of the TENSIONER PULLEY ASSEMBLY was stuck. It has to do with the BLADE PULLEY BRAKES.

I resolve the issue by raising the DECK to it's HIGHEST SETTING, Engage the Blade Lever, and Increase the Engine RPM to CUTTING SPEED.

This was just and observation I experience.

Take Care now.

Country Boy

Jul 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Go Billy
by: Country Boy

Hello Billy,
You are absolutely correct. If a person does not do maintenance regularly, the mower will definately give trouble. I myself have 2 John Deer Lawn Tractor. A L110 and a L130.
I will say this much Billy, I have been using synthatic oil 10 - 30. Oil in the motor and I use a Fram Long life filter. I will say this much, the oil level always stay up and also clean.

I don't know if you realize, these Kholer engines use hydraulic lifters for the valves.

Another thing Billy and to all those folks whom have experience starter problems, try starting in this fashon.

With the throttle in idle position or choke off, crank the engine first. While cranking the engine, slowly engage the choke until the engine starts the back of 25% on the choke.

Well folks, I am signing off now, just finish cutting 10 acres of lawn with my L110. 7 hours in da seat. Me tiered.
By for now.

Jul 24, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
My 2002 L110
by: BILLY

I bought my L110 at Home Depot in 2002. I maintain this tractor myself with no difficulties changing blades, oil and filter, engine is the Kohler 17 1/2 hp and I have only changed 1 belt in this time frame. I grease my spindles regularly and I have put this tractor through pure lawn "HEll". I mow commercially 30 yards monthly.
No other problems. I will definitely get another DEERE if I can ever wear this one out. GO JOHN DEERE. I guess I got a real good one....

Jul 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
changing deck belt
by: Country Boy

Removing the deck is not a great deal of trouble.

To remove the deck, you first must place the height selector to the lowest setting.

Next you remove the belt from the engine pully.

Disconnect the belt engagement cable.

Remove the pin from the drag bar in front of the deck and seperate the drag bar.

Remove the pins from the hanger assembly on the deck on both sides.

The deck is now ready to be removed.

Country Boy.

Jul 03, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Belt change on L-110 John Deere
by: Willie

Thanks for info regarding changing the belt on L-110 w/o removing the mower deck, i am going to try it. I dont need the extra work of removing the deck if I dont have to.

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Deck Bet Change on L110
by: Country Boy

Hello and good day to you on your upcomming Deck Belt Change. I encourage you to do the belt change. It should take you about 10 or 15 minutes.

First you need to lower the deck to the lowest setting.

Second, you need to remove the belt from the Engine Pully.

Now you can remove the belt from the deck pully.

NOTE: you might experience some difficulty getting the on the IDLER pully because of the BELT KEEPER.
If you experience difficulty, you might consider removing the pulley.

While you are changing the belt, rotate each of the Blade pully and check the Blade Hub Bearing for roughness or tightness when rotating the hub.

Also check the Hub Pylly Brake Pads. If these are worn excessively, it will cause the brake assembly to be flipped by the blade pully.

If the pads are ok, the make sure the mowre is at idle before disengaging the blade belt. High RPMS at blade disengagement will cause excessive blade pully brake pad wear and also cause the brake assembly to flip.

Well, that is all for now. Feel free to write back,

Country Boy

Jun 29, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L 110
by: Anonymous

I had to go look to see when I got mine.2003 .I mow 2acres and abuse it.there have been a couple of times where i also mowed my father in laws 3acres because he was laid up.I think 2summers at 5acres was a bit much for a 42 inch but that was all I could afford when I bought it.I usally am very good about oil,grease etc....stabil in the winter.never had to do anything to it. I remove the deck everyyear to sharpen blades and touch up paint to prevent rust.next one is going to be a diesel with a front end loader.

Jun 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
Change belt on L-110
by: Willie

Can someone tell me if I can change the belt on a L-110 john deere without disconnecting the mower deck? I got close to 200 hours on mine and belt has some cracks in it, so making plans to replace it.Looks like if you drop it down all the way, it might be a way to do it.

May 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Deck Spindle Making Noise
by: Anonymous

Hello Mr. Or Miss Noisy Deck Spindle.
I would like to share with you, due to the fact that the bearings in the spindle are sealed bearings, there is no application for greasing.

If your spindles are noisy, this means the bearing seals have deteoriated and the balls in the bearing has no grease in them.

I have two John Deer lawn tractors. A L-110 and a L-130. When I replaced the spindles, I placed a nylon washer on top of the bearing before installing the pully.

The purpose of this washer, is to keep grass cuttings from comming in contact with the bearing seals.

If you clean you machine after each use, you may not need to do this. But remember, the top bearing is exposed to the element.

it is possible to purchase new bearings, or bearings and shaft or new spindle.. I find it easier to purchasenew spindles. The come complete and ready to install. Just remove the pully firts, then the blade, then the four bolts that attaches the spindle to the deck.

Remember, it is difficult to have a greasable spindle. This is because of the vertical installation. Most of the grease would end up on the lower bearing. That is why the spindles are not greasable.

I have found one vendor which supply John Deer parts at a reasonable price. It is located in Minnisota and is named "Petes Small Engines" I have gotten parts from them for both my lawn tractors and they ship via the Post Office too.

Well, this conclude the Spindle issue. Happy layn Mowering.
Tomorrow I go cut my 1 1/2 acre and also cut a neighbor 10 Acre to. So both my John Deer will be chopping away.

Thanks for reading.
Country Boy Out.

May 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
john deere up and downs
by: Anonymous

wat the heck with the deck man it got a loud noise and it needs a grease sirt how can u grease a deck spindals I mean johndeere can do a lot better but i do complement them for thier engine it is kolher 17 .5 horse so I ran over a a root andit sarted right up so u knowlet me know

May 21, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
no complaints from me
by: Ben P.

My son bought his L110 from the dealership in 2000. We've replaced the spindles, several belts, and welded the weak spots around the base where the spindle attaches. Other than that, its been a great machine. About 2 acres every other week.I wouldn't hesitate to buy another when the time comes. This one still runs cherry, so we're in for the long haul.

May 08, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
VERY SATISFIED
by: Bob

I bought my L110 8 years ago
mow 2 acres with it. gets used pretty rough but
has been a good mower.I do regular maintenence
on it,havent had any major problems though.

May 02, 2011
Rating
starstar
L110 piece of junk!
by: Anonymous

I bought an L110 in 2004 from home depot kept it in a garage and within 2 years all of the welding on the deck had cracked and come apart. The engine runs great but the rest of the mower is falling apart around it!

Apr 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Starter Problem
by: Anonymous

Hello to all,
I see lots of you say you have starter problem.
For starters, here are some concerns you may want to consider.

Most important, if your lawn tractor does not have enough or is fully charged, this condition can damage your starter. When you turn the key, the enging should crank smoothly. If it surges, the engine has too much compression. So a combination of low battry voltage and high compression is the common cause of starter failure.

First you should make sure the battry is fully charged, especially if the tractor has been sitting for two or three weeks between uses.

Second, try cranking the engine before applying the choke. This will reduce the possibility of compression backlash. When the choke is applied before cranking, too much fuel enter the cylinder causing high compression. High compression causes a high voltage and amprage on the starting system also causes excessive heat on th starter heat.

Third, I use to have hard Starting when I used conventional oil, but now have easy starting. Since I switch to synthetic oil 10-30 grade. Also the oil stays cleaner and lubricate easier. Yes the type of oil you use also cause hard starting.

Anyway, that is all for now, so remember, crank engine first and while cranking, then slowly engage the choke.

Country Boy gone..

Apr 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
better than craftsman
by: hondo

Great mower Much better than craftsman.I beat the heck out of mine and it won,t die.always starts ,always runs always mows.all I've had to do was change oil 'filter 'belts.and weld the deck twice.I mow two acres and drag my 100 yard gravel driveway with it.It's about 5 years old

Apr 29, 2011
Rating
star
L110
by: Anonymous

I have One of these mowers and i have not been too impressed by it. It breaks starters all the time and my starter solinoid is fine. Over all i am not to impressed

Apr 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Keeping Up With Your John Deer Lawn Tractor
by: Country Boy

Hello,
I am Back

PROBLEM WITH TRACTOR RUNNING
I purchase a L-130 from a neighbor for $100.00 This mower was sitting under a tree for a year or two. The neighbor purchase it new. I took it home, stripped it down and refurbish the entire unit. This unit has a 22HP 2-cylinder engine.
Problems I found, when you let your fuel evaporate inside the carburetor, it leaves a red gummy residue. This affects the Shut off solenoid which is installed inside the Carburetor bowl (Sticky). I cleaned it up and got the engine running.

For oil, I use Wal-Mart Super Tech Synthetic 10-30 oil and Fram extended guard filter. With the L-130, I had a problem with it idling at low idle and would shut off at that setting.

My solution to that is, I added the recommended portion of Marvel Mystery Oil to the quantity of Fuel as shown on the Marvel Mystery Oil. Container.

After cutting 1 1/2 Acre of grass which was about 12 inches high, the lawn mower now idles ok.

One thing to consider is, the fuel you now get at the stations, now contains Ethanol. These engines were not design to burn Ethanol blend fuel. The alcohol causes the engine to burn hotter, which affect the metals in the combustion chamber and valves. this is the primary cause of engine failure.

By adding recommended quantities of Marvel Mystery Oil to your fuel tank, you need not worrying about carburetor clogging up. the Marvel Mystery Oil will keep all your intake system protected.

NOTE: during the down season, you should run your machine at least 2 times each month, so as to keep your machine running smoothly.

I think I have addressed some of the issues at hand.

Anyone having any more questions, feel free to write me back

Country Boy signing off.

PS: I now have 2 John Deer Lawn Tractors L-110 & L-130.

Apr 28, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Concern Lawn Mower Owerners
by: Country Boy

This message is being addressed to everyone whom has a John Deer.

I have Automotive Maintenance experience. A lawn tractor is not that much different when compare to your vehicle.

I will address some of the issues you all are concerned about, from cutting different terrain to maintenance and storage.

I will like to address different issue about John Deer equipment for easy maintenance.

To access the blades, spindles, or clean the under deck, you need to remove just 5 clips.

REMOVING THE DECK FROM YOUR LAWN TRACTOR
L-100, L110 and L-130 Tractors

FIRST: you should lower the Tractor Deck to the Lowest Setting.

SECOND: If you look under the foot rest of each side, you will see 2 clips securing the support bard between the deck and the chassis. you remove the 2 top clips on each side and allow them to rest on the deck.

THIRD: You need to remove the tow shaft clip in front of the deck, and remove the tow shaft from the deck.

FOURTH: Remove the deck drive belt from the pulley

FIFTH: Slide the deck from under the tractor from either side of the tractor.

Now you have the Deck free to do whatever maintenance you desire.


CUTTING VARIOUS TERRAIN

When cutting rough terrain and you are concerned about the tractor or the deck bogging down, you can adjust the height guide wheels to a lower setting. This is accomplished by removing each wheel and install it in a different lower hole which will prevent the deck from going any lower than the wheel setting.


Apr 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Rock Solid
by: Mike

I purchased this mower new in 2004 when we bought this .78 acre property. The grounds are mixture of flat/sloped/rolling and plenty of obstacles to get around. I will admit that I have not given this tractor the respect it deserves since it has only seen 3 oil changes and few proper cleanings. It has cut through things it was never meant to, ridden over things it never should have, and generally treated fairly rough. I have NEVER(other than a battery replacement) had a single issue with this machine and that is not a lie. After reading about so many problems with some I am going to treat this Deere much better, it certainly has earned that. I must say that it was purchased new directly from a Deere dealership and I would not hesitate to buy one again. Actually I'm thinking about a Zero turn.

Apr 16, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
L110
by: Scott

I bought my L110 in 2002. I've had to sharpen the blades and oil changes and greased. Last year I pull the deck off and replaced the spindles. It gets waxed twice a year and washed after every mowing. For a throw away mower its been great. I can't believe that people been having problems with them. I'm am ready to upgrade after 9 years of use. Nothing but good!

Apr 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
fuel pump
by: mark Mc

I've owned the L110 for about 5 years now. The first 2 were horrible as it needed to go back to the shop for tune ups because it would never run right for more than half a season. They kept telling me my gas was old or something like that. I knew a little bout engines so I knew it was the fuel system so I found out a new fuel pump was relatively cheap and easy to replace so I sent for one on a lark. Lo and behold the new pump worked entirely differently. The design was clearly different tho it fit right where the old one fit. And since then I've never had another problem. I'm a bit annoyed with Deere because I clearly had a defective pump, and since Deere clearly changed the way that the pump worked, they must have known it too. So I was out too tune up costs and the cost of pick up and delivery of my mower.

Apr 09, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstar
You get what you pay for
by: Lon

The weak link in the L110 or any of the L series mowers is the deck.Depending on how rough your land is and how much you cut you will most likely be welding something within a few years.I have twice in the last few years.The up side to that is it takes about two minutes to get it out from under the mower
I think the 110 is rated for 3/4 acre and runs around 1500. 1700.I do think you should purchase from your JD dealer .It will not cost any more and they need the buisness HD is fine but try and buy those hard to find parts at HD.
I digress,the 110 is a reasonable mower for a reasonable price,If you want more it's out there but you guessed it so is the $$

Semper Fi

Mar 30, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Access to mower blades
by: Anonymous

Does anyone out there know how to get access to the mower blades on my John Deere model 110. Do I need a sky hook or what ????????????

Mar 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Engine amateur
by: Mike

I have an L110 from Home Depot since 2002. My house is on a residential lot, slightly sloped at ~ 1 acre. Have never needed to take it in for service. All I've done is change the oil and oil filter each season, with the occasional new spark plug and battery across the 9 years I've had it. Sharpen the blades myself. Never had to touch/adjust the mower deck. Like others have said, it's an entry level mower that (in my case) has paid off in spades.

Mar 26, 2011
Rating
star
SORRY TO THE HIGHEST
by: CHARLES

Please people, don't buy the home depot brand of john doe. That's what it is a doe. Bought 2 like a fool. THE L110 L120. Can not keep spindles on , the soft metal keep bending causing mower to scalp grass on either side. Now the motor bad on l120,cam rod broke, metal on inside of motor, serviced changed oil,filters. Thats my experince with home depot brands.

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I smell bull****
by: W. Davis

I've had a L110 for 5 years and have never even had to tighten a belt much less replace one. I think Keven Rogers sells cub cadets.

Mar 15, 2011
Rating
star
L110 ARE PIECES OF JUNK
by: Kevin Rogers

I bought a l110 and so did my parents. What a huge mistake x 2. Both me and my parents mowers will not keep belts on worth a crap. And at $45 a pop its cheaper not to run it. I have a cub cadet and if functions absolutely awesome. I strongly recommend Cub Cadets. I should have learned that lesson from my grand parents whos cub cadet survived a tornado caught fire once and still ran and cut like a champ till it was 20 plus years old.

Feb 27, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Still going strong
by: Joel

I would buy another John Deere. I abuse it and don't take care of it as I should and it runs like a champ. My neighbor helped me with a complete tune-up last summer after I rolled it. Even after I rolled it and let it sit and drain the L110 started right up with no problems.

Feb 21, 2011
Rating
star
John Deere L110
by: Anonymous

I purchaseda John Deere L110 about 4 years ago and it have been a lemon. The mower deck belt will not stay on. After numerous trips to John Deere Deeler the belt kept on coming off and still coming off.Not to mention after a short while holes start coming in the deck. My yard is a regular yard with no thick grass.I have replaced all the spindles and pulleys.John deere refused to make it good and all this happen during warranty. My brother-in-law brought a 48 inch cut about the same time and the same problem. My advise STAY AWAY FROM JOHN DEERE.

Nov 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
8 years
by: John

I have a 2002 L110 with 554 hours, the 17.5 HP engine thru the rod last year at 525 hours, replaced it with a 18.5 HP twin briggs, bolts, exhaust and electrical all same connection, no other problems, great machine for two acres.

Nov 05, 2010
Rating
star
i thought these were meant to be quality (?)
by: Anonymous

I bought this tractor in 2007. Its housed in my garage and every year I had it serviced by John Deere. This summer the oil ring cracked and it will cost more to have the motor replaced then to buy a new one.I bought a John Deere becasue I thought they where high quality, never again.

Oct 17, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Perfect
by: Dave

Had this mower for 6 years and beat the crap out of it! Just changed the oil for only the second time and replaced the fuel filter air filter and plugs. Runs like new with zero problems. I mow 1.5 acres every weekend.

Oct 03, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JD L110 - Resurected
by: David

I would like to say, I acquired a JD L110 with the Kohler 17.5 Motor. It has 475 hours on it. The previous owner did not do any maintenance, not even an oil change. It had the original oil filter form the time of purchase.

It would start but had no go power and the exhaust would glow very RED. I then realized there was a timing problem. I took it in to a shop where i was told a pin was shared off and it is now working ok. They also told me, the deck spindle need to be replaced. They wanted too much for the parts so I found the parts online. i will say, i have found any parts for my JD L110 online. There is a place in Wisconsin, Maryland and Missouri where i have purchased parts.

I currently have a problem where the mower is blowing the fuse. When the Voltage regulator is connected, it starts and run for a minute then the fuse blows.

With the regulator disconnected, it starts and the fuse does not blow. i replaced the regulator and with the new one it still does the same. i have a new battery and problem is still there. Any suggestions?

Jul 04, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
JD L110 great for a low cost mower
by: Anonymous

Had mine for 6 years, new battery, changed oil and sharpened blades - no problems except the battery/fuse. 240 hours mowing and pulling trailers.

May 31, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Australian JD Okay
by: Steve Patten

Bought my L110 with Kohler 17.5 more than 5 years ago here in Australia.
I have a rough 1.75 acre property with slopes, dam,rocks etc.
I maintain it according to the owners manual.
Replace blades every season and have replaced mower deck belt once. It still has original drive belt at 200 hours.
Will need to replace battery as winter is upon us.
Am very happy with quality and reliability.
These mowers cost $4200/$4500 here in Australia.

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Great Mower for the price...
by: Yard Master

Sorry to hear about your blown engine, but at the same time I've never seen ANYONE blow an engine on a maintained riding mower(NOT SAYING YOU DIDN'T MAINTAIN YOUR ENGINE, JUST SAYING). I've had my L110 since Nov. of 2002 and I have over an acre of Bermuda to cut. I tune it yearly and have never had a problem with the engine, matter of fact it runs like a sewing machine! The Kohler engine starts quick and runs strong.

Howe owners that run to their local Home Improvement store and purchase a Deere need to keep in mind, these are entry level John Deere mowers. John Deere makes a very high quality machine for more money. The entire L line was designed to compete against Troy-Built and Craftsman, MTD, and they do that VERY well. I currently have two neighbors who bought Troy-Built riding mowers and both of them have had to have several things fixed including the engines.

Anyone looking to purchase the current L series from Lowe's or Home Depot will get a quality mower that will deliver many years of service on normal sized lawns. If you have anything over an acre and a half, you should consider a higher end riding mower/tractor.

The only reason I couldn't give 5*'s is the fact the parts are rather expensive compared to similar mowers. The decks on these mowers could stand to be a little thicker as well, then again the higher end Deere's come with thicker cut decks. This is one of the trade offs of purchasing an L series. Most L's are $2200 and below.

All in all, it's a great riding mower for the price, but keep in mind you're not buying a John Deere tractor that can do "anything". It's simply a riding mower and that's it...

Apr 02, 2010
Rating
star
BLOWN ENGINE
by: DON

HEY 3 YEARS AND POOF...
I BOUGHT A REPLACEMENT ENGINE AT HARBOR FREIGHT..
AND ITS FINE...BRAKES WENT ..CAN'T LOCATE PARTS SO I HAVE TO TAKE IT FOR REPAIR....
SO MUCH FOR THE "GREAT" JOHN DEERE

Mar 06, 2010
Rating
star
NEVER AGAIN!
by: Anonymous

PURCHASED JUNE 2004. LOTS OF MECHANICAL ISSUES. CURRENTLY ATTEMPTING TO FIND & REPLACE THE FUEL TANK. IT LEAKED, DESTROYED BELT, AND IS OBVIOUSLY NON-FUNCTIONAL. I HAVE COME TO UNDERSTAND JOHN DEERE DOESN'T EVEN BUILD THE L SERIES. NEVER AGAIN.

Sep 07, 2009
Rating
star
Avoid the L110
by: Anonymous

I bought this new at Home Depot and its fallen apart after a few years usage. Trying to find replacement parts has been frustrating. There are some on the Web, but the ones I need have to be ordered and picked-up at the dealer. I will never buy a JD again.

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Easy to drive and manouver
by: Anonymous

John Deere L110 I have had this riding lawn mower for 4 years now. Being a single woman, I wanted a reliable brand with a good reputation. I got that and more. I am able to do the maintainance myself, which is a big money saver.

The instruction manuel is easy to follow. I have changed the oil, the fuel filter, oil filter, battery, and air filter myself every year. I changed the blades too. A little more challenging, but doable.

The mower is easy to drive and manouver. I have a wooded back yard and am able to whip around trees very efficiently. It starts easily first time every time.

Even first start up inRepll the spring, even though I don't do any "winterizing". My lot is 1/3 of an acre.

I get 3 or 4 mows out of a tank of gas. Not too bad, I don't think. I have the bagging attachment. It is a little tricky to hook up, but holds a lot of clippings and leaves. I only empty it when I am done with the lawn.

Replacement parts and accessories are readily available at the John Deere outlets as well as Lowes and Home Depot.

Who knows, maybe someday I'll buy the plow attachment and get rid of my snow plow contract.

I would definitely purchase this brand in the future if I ever need to replace this one, which I doubt. My neighbor still uses his fathers John Deere that is 30 yrs old.

Apr 16, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstar
No bells and whistles, but a quality product
by: Donna

We purchased our Deere about 5 years ago from a local John Deere authorized dealer. Having a rather large to care for we decided to go with what we thought to be the best brand of lawn mower around.

We have to say we haven't been disappointed one day! Our lawn poses a variety of different challanges. We not only have level ground but much of the area is on a steep incline. With the wooded area we have on the side we often have branches that have broken that the Deere easily handles. It is easy to navigate around the trees and large bolders that landscape our yard.

We decided after the first year to purchase the 6.5-bushel rear-bagger with a chute that runs from the side discharge. Having the clippings all taken care of without any manual labor is certainly the way for most to go I would say.

Althogh we have thought at times we should also purchase the mulch kit but haven't done so to date.

LAst year we decided to take out little work horse to another level buy purchasing a 44-inch snow blower, a 46-inch snow blade and a sun canopy.

Some have said we are getting a little obsessed with our lawn tractor but we feel the investment is worth it when you have a great product that we feel saves you time and money.

It may not be anything fancy with all the bells and whistles but if you are looking for a quality product and something you can add to as you go along I think this is a great choice. We look forward to many more years with out Deere!

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.