John Deere LX 277 Lawn Tractor

by Mark Whitaker
(Napoleon M)

Backing up while mowing, pull up on mower button every time is very annoying. I'm looking at a $5700 cub cadet because of this one reason. John deere is losing one customer. They should sell a fix for this, simplicity and kibota tractors all dont have this problem. Other wise I love the color, and the seats are ten years old and have no tears or breaks, I have two of these. One for me one for the wife, we mow two to four acres. The quality is there for sure, and they always look good. replacement parts are cheap at the dealer and the motors are the best 17 Hp Kawasaki.


I go thur a few belts, but I really use my tractors, High barnyard grass. My vacant land gets very high at times. And me and my son weigh 240 each and they pull our big bodies up steep hills all summer. I like the plastic hood, it always looks good, does not rust, and whats going to break it? I perfer plastic over metal.

Other than the back up problem and the tires going flat, until I put tubes in,there good units. But I'm buying a simplicity or a Cub Cadet in protest for the back up pull up problem.

Comments for John Deere LX 277 Lawn Tractor

Average Rating starstarstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Mar 22, 2015
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Blade Problem
by: Jerry Engr

I hit a concrete curb slightly and it bent one of my blades. It was a heavy blade and I didn't have a good way to hold it or I could have bent it back with a cheater pipe or a big pipe wrench. If you move the blade to the other side and it is ok, then the mower deck housing that holds the blade spindle may be bent. You could probably fix this with a pry bar between the housing and blade or you could loosen the housing and shim under it with brass shims or washers.

May 18, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
High blade
by: Anonymous

I love my JD LX277, bought it in 2000. Although everything else has been great,the blades on the 48 in. deck are uneven, and no one seems to know why. The right blade is about 3/4 higher than the other 2. Tried new blades,check shaft and hub. Can't get an answer.

Mar 19, 2014
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great Mower
by: Barry T

Bought a new LX277 in Oct. 2000. I mow 1/2 acre twice a week, sharpen blades twice a year, change oil and filter every year and snow blow as needed.
Only parts changed were spark plugs and coils.
Belts,blades and battery,yes the battery, are still original after 13+ years. Neighbor has gone through two Cub Cadets, One Troy built and one Craftsman in ten years.Now he has a JD 300 and says its the best.

Oct 31, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
lx 277 mower seitch
by: Dan

I have the john deere LX 277 all wheel steer have had it for years the first thing made pice of pvc with a notch to slip under the switch also added a john deere steering wheel spiner have the 48" deck it's used for mowing home and at my apt"s
so it gets a good work out.It's a great Mower

Mar 04, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
to keep button up
by: Anonymous

just put a clothes pin under the switch to keep it up works great

Jul 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
sharpening blades
by: Anonymous

I take the deck off and remove the blades with a impact gun the process to get the blades off takes ten min with gatering tools and all. when I sharpen the blades I have found for me a dewalt hand grinder works better than a large wheel grinder, I used the large grinder for years. But a hand grinder with the blade in a vise works out real fast with out removing too much steel.
Always grind the back side, sharpen more often than not and you can keep the angle from the factory fairly easy. Of course us a blade balancer to check the balance. If your blades are getting dull to fast it may be your sharpening them on too much of a angle, It may be easyer to start out with a new blade and keep the angle the same, I would probally try to get back to the original angle and try to keep that with your old blades. I only use John deere blades, you have that freedom deck, do you have to time them? so they dont hit each other? I also wash under the deck every time the grass is wet, I do enjoy maintaining the lawnmower I use pledge on the plastic motor cover to shine it up among other soaps and waxs.

Jul 10, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
blade issue
by: Anonymous

I love my LX 277, don't mind the back up issue at all, but the blade dulls so quickly. I have sharpened it often but it just wont keep an edge. Any suggestions?

May 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I havent bought any tractor yet
by: Mark Whitaker

I've changed my mind, and will buy a john deere next time, Work has been to slow for my to get a tractor at this time. My comments were mostly directed at john deere about the switch. I'm not lazy or a moron and have asked lawn mower review to remove all of my comments based on your grade school comments.

May 12, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Back up switch
by: Anonymous

To give up John Deere because you're to lazy to pull a button is very stupid go buy cub aka mtf moron

Apr 08, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
yes i have the same complants
by: Anonymous

the LX 277JD mulching freedom deck cuts low to med high grass well I think the blades should be harder to keep a longer sharpness

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - John Deere.