Remington PowerMower MPS6017A electric mower

by Cameron
(Toledo, Ohio )

This cordless lawn mower saved my husbands back, my sanity and most importantly our over grown backyard. We have a fairly large back yard that has been in desperate need of grooming for sometime and our piece of poop old lawn mower just wasn’t doing the trick.


It was loud, noisy and since our back yard is so big we would need two batteries to get the job down and since our old mower was such a piece, it really hurt my husbands back to use. However our new Remington is a dream.

It is quiet, which keeps me from yelling at my husband to turn that racket down, and inspires us to actually mow the lawn because it won’t annoy our neighbors.

The Remington also only requires one battery to do the whole lawn, something my husband didn’t not think possible.

And if your lawn is larger than ours (which I don’t know if that is possible) it comes with a extension cord to get the whole thing done in one chore.

The power behind this mower allows my husband to breeze through the lawn without hurting his back and is fun to use so he does! The boost mode is his favorite because it allows him to cut through weeds and thick grass without slowing down the speed the of the blades.

Other nice touches include: the padded grip handle, which provides added comfort, that it is light weight and handles beautifully.

My backyard for the first in forever finally looks groomed, trimmed and amazing.

Comments for Remington PowerMower MPS6017A electric mower

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Apr 07, 2013
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Replace 5ea Internal Batteries...Good as NEW!
by: Jason


Battery no longer working? Use a flat tip screwdriver to open the battery compartment. Then replace the 5ea internal batteries with new (find them online) and re-install.

While you have the battery box open ensure your copper contacts are making good contact then close up battery box and recharge.

Good as new for another several years of easy electric mowing!

Enjoy!

Aug 19, 2011
Rating
starstarstar
Remington Out of Business
by: Judi

I purchased this mower three years ago and have had no mechanical issues with it at all until the battery started to slowly stop charging. I went online to search where to get a new battery, only to discover Remington is out of business and only parts for mowers made by MTD for Remington are still available. This mower was NOT made by MTD.

So, if you come across this mower somewhere for sale.... pass it by. My attempt to do my part for the environment has come back to bite me in the hindquarters. $300 for a mower that only lasted me 3 years. I could have purchased a gas mower for 1/2 the cost and it would have lasted for at least 5 years. I will be buying a gas powered this time.

Aug 17, 2010
Rating
star
crap
by: fdc

Got ripped-off by remington

I bought a Remington power mower model MPS6017A.

After a month, the handle was broken (cheap rubber on it), and parts had been loosened.

After a summer, the battery does not charge anymore and the mower is useless.

I called Remington.

The guys at Remington told me that they only sold their name on the product and did not assume the guarantee. Basically, they told me to get lost ! Thanks a lot Remington.

The lawn mower was in fact built by Desa and the company went bankrupt.

Word of advice: don’t buy Remington products ! You can buy crap made by another company and Remiongton will tell you off.

Jul 18, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Lost Key
by: HLG

I love my Remington cordless, battery operated mower but I have lost the key. Anybody know where to find a replacement? Thank you.

Apr 23, 2010
Rating
star
Buy one?
by: Anonymous

I don't think anyone is going to be buying one. They haven't been available for quite a while now!

Apr 23, 2010
Rating
star
Worst mower ever
by: Ohio mom

I bought a Remington mower in 09, because I thought for a single mom it was easier for me to run and save gas money. It's a P.O.S and a waste of money. Power is zip(especially in grass taller than 3 inches) and I spend more time charging it, and spend more time plugging it into a cord. The charge only lasts about 30 minutes at a time. Don't buy.

Apr 16, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Replacement Blade
by: Steve

Anyone know where to find replacement baldes fo the Remington PowerMower MPS6017A electric mower

Apr 13, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Better than new!
by: Linda

If you open up the battery compartment, you will find five 12 volt batteries hooked up in series that are widely available and easy to replace. I found them in town, put them in, and went out and mowed the yard today!

My back wheels finally fell off - poorly made and designed. I bought two steel wheels, drilled a small hole in the axles about 1/4 inch from the ends, slid the new wheels on and put in a clip to hold them. I had to use 8 inch since I couldn't find 9 inch. They have to have 1.5 inch hubs so got the offset model. I just set the mower at 3.5 inches to mow at 3 inch height.

Mower is now better than new and ready for several more seasons.

Feb 02, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Love mine, but they went bankrupt!
by: Linda

Love my mower except after two summers, the back wheels are falling off. I could also use a spare battery. Does anyone know if there will be a comeback for these after the company went bankrupt and out of business?

Aug 07, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
How to buy it in France
by: Alain

Good morning from France , somebody could tell me how to buy this Remington PowerMower MPS6017A electric mower in France or UK ??
Merci !!
telle.alain@gmail.com

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I don't have any complaints about this mower
by: Anonymous

I've got a little over a quarter acre of land, at least half of which is good, mow-able grass. I've been through a couple mowers over the years. Most of them were more of a pain than they're worth. So after complaining twice a month about the sorry state of our lawn mower, my wife decided to go out and buy this Remington PowerMower.

Without a doubt the best I've ever used. I have a lot of lawn to mow, and don't like the fumes or expense of gas powered mowers, and with most electric mowers the battery always ran out of charge before the job was done, which meant I had to go charge and then come back and finish. It was a real hassle. But this Remington has a built-in extension cord, so I can plug it in and keep going if I lose battery power.

The collection bag is made of a material that is far less porous than most mowers, which means there's less of a dust cloud seeping from it. I also like how quiet this mower is, it barely makes a sound. The maneuverability is top notch. I can easily move around items like the birdbath without having to bring out the edger.

The height adjuster is a lot smoother than with other models. The ground is very uneven in some places, so height adjustment is important to me. I don't have any complaints about this mower. It's turned a twice monthly chore into something almost enjoyable.

May 08, 2009
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Great for a small yard
by: Marcy S.

I just got a Remington Power Mower from my mother as a gift. As a woman, I find it a lot easier to use instead of a gas mower. This model is completely electric. It has a 60 volt battery and can be used with an extention cord if needed. You can hook it up to a 110 volt outlet when the battery runs out.

This model also has a boost mode while plugged in. This keeps the blade running evenly. It will run for at least an hour when it is fully charged from plugging it into an outlet. This mower is great for a small yard. It can also cut a large yard, but be prepared to use an extension cord. I like the fact that no gas cans are needed for this model. I just turn a key and it starts right away.

This mower is fantastic for the environment because it makes no carbon emissions. I love the fact that it's light weight and moves easy. It also has a padded handle that keeps my hands looking nice. This also makes it comfortable for me to use. It also makes no fumes and no noise to disturb the neighbors. It comes equipped with nine inch rear wheels.This makes the mower get better traction when going up a hill. It also comes with a grass collection bag and a bag for mulch.

I also like how easy it is to adjust the blade which has eight possible positions. I highly recommend this mower to anyone who has a small to medium yard. You will love this mower.

Apr 19, 2009
Rating
starstar
Battery is poorly designed
by: Anonymous

I have had 2 batteries and both have not held a charge - otherwise I think it's a great mower - but I am not a fan of pulling a cord around my yard when I bought it to use the battery.

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to Lawn Mower Consumer Reviews.