Toro Z TimeCutter Zero Turn Riding Mower - Model 74360

by Lucy
(Tampa FL )

If you are looking for an efficient, reliable and impressive lawn mower, then IS Toro Time Cutter Riding Mower is for YOU! They aren't kidding about calling it a Time Cutter - it truly cut my lawn cutting time in HALF.


The blades pick up every single blade of grass so I don't need to go back over my lawn again and again to cut it.

The motor is quieter than other models of this size and the ride is extremely smooth. Before I had problems with my rocky terrain - my front and back yard is several acres and it's not always the smoothest surface.

Our other riding lawn mower would skip a ton of spots because of this, forcing us to go over and over again on certain patches of grass. This made our grass look uneven and poorly cut.

With the Toro Time Cutter, this doesn't happen! With one graze, the mower picks up the high AND the low areas of grass and then our lawn looks freshly manicured! It's really a great machine and we are very happy with it.

I know the price is a little higher than other riding mowers but this was definitely worth the investment! We looked at cheaper mowers and actually tried out a few but none of them cut like this one did.

This mower also turns very easily and fits into tight corners like no other mower can. It also is energy and gas efficient and that's a big plus for us as well.

I highly recommend this mower to anyone with a lot of grass and not a lot of time!

Comments for Toro Z TimeCutter Zero Turn Riding Mower - Model 74360

Average Rating starstarstarstar

Click here to add your own comments

Feb 26, 2012
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
Z5000 thumbs up!
by: Northwest GA

I have used a Z5000 for two summers mowing a 3 acre yard with several trees and a couple of outbuildings. It performs well and saves a lot of time.
Previously I had used a Yanmar YM2000 tractor with a 60" finishing mower. It would take three hours to mow, then an hour of trimming around everything that the finishing mower couldn't get to. Four hours once a week adds up. The 60" finishing mower had a wide bite but was slow and hard to maneuver.
Then I got my Z5000. It eats grass like a starving billy goat. Where the tractor was taking 3 hours, the Z5000 will eat up the yard in about an hour and a half, and that is including getting a lot of spots the finishing mower couldn't get to. When I'm done, I might have fifteeen minutes of trimming to do, compared to an hour before. So I truly cut my work time in HALF.
Pros: FAST, nimble, gets into tight spots easily, holds up well, neigbors look at you with much envy
Cons: Fuel use (figure a gallon per acre), requires more maintenance than I normally give a mower, such as greasing the front wheels often and washing the deck every time I mow. Its a bumpy ride if your yard is rough (mine was a pasture before).
If you mow regularly, you can zip along about 3-4 mph and still get a good cut. 5 mph over sparse areas. But if your grass gets too tall, you'll have to slow down and you may wind up with the 'strips' that you hear some people complain about.
Its a fine machine. PLUS the kids love to use it. The first three months we had it I rarely got to use it!

Aug 31, 2011
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
leafs
by: Anonymous

Deck is big enough to ride with a blanket over your.lap.

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
starstar
Transaxle problems
by: Anonymous

Have an Time cutter 5000. Bought the first one 3/1/11. A week later the right hand transaxle-hydro started vibrating and makeing noise. Had a loss of power on that side. Retured it on 3/19/11 and got another mower same model and now its doing the same thing. Wonder if this is going to be a own going problem?

Aug 04, 2011
Rating
star
z4235
by: jonny k

I bought this mower in may 2010....i have had to service this unit 3 times...in the past year. This model has a problem with the starter...under warranty. Two times now this has been a problem. Of course it only happens when you have to mow. Two week wait seems to be the norm for mower service. I guess what seems to irk me is the fact that i purchased a walmart rider about 8 years ago...i never serviced that mower in all the time i owned it. i paid $600 for the mower and sold it 8 yrs later for 250. I guess i just expected to not have to deal with service issues for at least a few year.

Nov 01, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstarstar
I THINK YOU ARE ALL WRONG
by: Anonymous

I OWN A LAWN CARE COMPANY IN SOUTH CAROLINA AND I PURCHASED A TORO Z TIME CUTTER 50 INCH MOWER 1 YEAR AGO AND I HAVE USED IT EVERYDAY COMMERCIALLY AND IT HAS NEVER GIVEN ME ONE SINGLE PROBLEM...COMMERCIALLY !!! THIS MOWER HAS BEEN A GREAT INVESTMENT AND I WOULDNT CHANGE A THING ABOUT IT. I OWN OTHER ZERO TURNS THAT COST TWICE AS MUCH BUT I WOULD DEF REC THIS MOWER FOR ANY HOME OWNER OR SOMEONE LOOKING TO GET INTO THE BUSINESS WITH A MIN INVESTMENT. JUST MAKE SURE YOU RUN MID GRADE FUEL IN THE MOWER AND CHANGE THE OIL EVERY 50 HOURS AND JUST SIMPLY TAKE CARE OF IT. TORO SAYS EVERY 100 BUT DO IT EVERY 50...IF YOU DO, THE MOWER WILL LAST YOU A LONG, LONG TIME...TRUST ME, IM A PRO !!!
BRAD IS SC

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstarstar
cutting around trees
by: Greg Froelke

I have a Z5000 Time cutter and when I cut around trees the tires really rip up the grass, especially after it has rained and the ground is still moist? It's a real problem

Sep 29, 2010
Rating
starstar
Toro Z poor cut
by: Greg F

I bought a Time Cutter Z5000 50" 2 yr's ago and I've had trouble with the cut. There are two poorly or un-cut strips on both sides of the center bladed... between the center and outside blades. I and the dealer have tries every thing from new blades to making sure the deck is properly leveled and the pitch is good, cutting at different speeds and heights and nothing seems to work. There seems to be a design flaw with this deck as it does not cut cleanly. The manufacture rep told me that it could be the type of grass I have. Maybe it's not thick enough he said. I have a nice yard with different thicknesses and the strips are throughout the yard. It is clear there is not enough suction under the deck to pull the grass into the blades, between the center and outside blades. I attribute this problem to a design problem. A $3000 lawn mower should cut any type of grass cleanly not matter what the height and type of grass. I like to cut my grass 3 " but the factory guy said to try 2 1/2. I did and the cut was a little better but I don't like cutting my grass that short as it takes more water and can get stressed in hot weather. What can I do. Seems the dealer and the factory people aren't going to help my out. I have one yr left on the warranty?
TRhanks
Greg

Aug 09, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Engine Problem
by: unhappy

I have a z5000 sitting in my garage 2 year and two months old with a hole in the side of the block. Paid $3000 new, changed the oil at the end of every season. Don't have $1000 for new parts, so it just sits there. Push mowing the lawn. I too HAD problems with strips in the lawn on both sides of the center blade.

I wouldn't recommend this mower to anyone! Kohler, Toro, and dealer have been no help at all!

Mar 20, 2010
Rating
starstarstarstar
Speedy and versatile
by: Anonymous

I purchased this mower about a year ago and so far I like it. It works well for me because I have a very large back yard (2 acres!)

Pros:
- It’s fast! I can usually do my yard in about half an hour 45 minutes. It easily goes around the flower bed I have in the yard. Also, it has a side bumper so I don’t ding the mower on the trees, and retaining wall I have in the yard.
- It has a good cut range for my grass which lets me cut as short as 1.5 inches to as tall as 4.5 inches. I usually keep it on 2.0 inches because I like the look and feel of that particular height. - It’s easy to clean too. I try to clean after every other use. It takes maybe 5 minutes of your time, thus making my total moving time less than an hour.

Cons:
- Expensive. If you do not have a commercial area or a large mowing area as I do, you’ll be paying way more than you need to. When I purchased it, I paid about $2,000. Not gas efficient. I go through a lot of gas fueling this mower.
- It is not Energy Star “compliant” as some of the smaller and newer models are. For the price that I paid I was expecting it to be a bit more gas efficient.

Overall I really like this product. It suits my needs in terms of speed, versatility and cut range.

Rating 4 out of 5

Click here to add your own comments

Join in and write your own page! It's easy to do. How? Simply click here to return to RIDING mowers - toro.